Comprehensive Campaign


CSA Reaches Major Milestone!

CSA is delighted to announce that we have been awarded $750,000 from the Mabee Foundation after completing their challenge!

Thanks to your help we raised $3.7 million in 2021!


"The Mabee Foundation is proud to support the Community School of the Arts and its mission to integrate arts education with leadership training for kids who often have no access to either.  We expect this new facility to expand CSA’s influence throughout Arkansas and Oklahoma for many years to come."

-Michael Goeke, Executive Director

To date we have raised ​$7.5 Million for the new Center for the Creative Arts!

Total Capital Funds Raised

Thermometer 15 million.png

Thank You to the Sunderland Foundation!

The Sunderland Foundation has provided an additional gift of $250,000 to the Inspiring Excellence Campaign to build the Center for the Creative Arts!

That brings their grand total to $500,000!


We are so very profoundly grateful to the Sunderland Foundation Board for their important vote of confidence for this project. Together, we will make this dream a reality!


"Since its inception in 1945, the Sunderland Foundation has focused on supporting projects in higher education, health care, youth-serving organizations, and civic and cultural areas of interest,” said President and Chief Operating Officer Randy Vance. “By supporting these types of construction and special interest projects, the Sunderland Foundation fosters a stronger, safer and more vibrant future for the communities we serve.  We are pleased to support the important work underway at the Community School of the Arts.”       - 


J. Randall Vance

President & Chief Operating Officer



Thank you Arvest Bank for your support!

Susan Hutchinson First Lady of Arkansas & Honorary Co-Chair of CSA Campaign


"The Community School of the Arts can only add to the uniqueness and distinction of Fort Smith from her years as a Wild West Military Outpost to that of sophistication and culture. Our young people and community will benefit for years to come with this new legacy for Fort Smith. I hope you will join me in making this so."

Creative students are no longer taking a back seat but are now rising to the forefront as leaders of change and as the role models for society. This is a powerful change that has far-reaching effects. Artists are going to be the leaders of the future and CSA is pioneering that future for our region!


Groundbreaking Day

Groundbreaking for the Center for the Creative Arts was held Wednesday, March 17, 2021 on the property just north of the United States Marshals Museum on the Arkansas riverfront in downtown Fort Smith. 

Chairman of the Board Dr. Rick Foti, Executive Director Dr. Rosilee Russell, and Fort Smith Mayor George McGill all provided remarks at the event. 

CSA Groundbreaking-38.jpg

Mayor McGill said the school will add to the progressive and innovative education offered in the Fort Smith area. “This is one of the main pieces of our educational puzzle in Fort Smith. We have been waiting for this amazing work. We thank you!” 

Campaign Kickoff Reception

On the evening of March 17, 2021, Community School of the Arts held a celebration reception at Hardscrabble Country Club in Fort Smith to highlight the success of the Inspiring Excellence Campaign.

Madeline Alt
shares her talent


Dr. Rick Foti notes that the arts teach students life skills


Dr. Phillip Russell thanks all the donors for their support and vote of confidence to the project


CSA Cabinet and Board Members celebrate Ground Breaking

Video by CSA Student Joseph Udouj

Campaign Leadership

Meet Our Campaign Leadership

Dr. Rosilee Russell, Founder/Executive Director

Dr. Phillip Russell, Director of Development

Honorary Co-Chairs:

Arkansas First Lady Susan Hutchinson

Mary Carleton Young

Kathy Coleman


Dr. Rick Foti, Wayne King, Bennie Westphal,

Mr. Gary & Judge Amy Grimes, Mr. Keith & Dr. Deborah Braboy

Drs. Phillip & Rosilee Russell

Deana Griffith

Advisors to the Cabinet:

Dr. Cole & Staci Goodman, Ben Shipley,

Brooke Loe, Sandy Dixon

CSA Board:

Selena Bartmier, Robin Clegg, Jeannie Cole,

Karen Farris, Dr. Rick Foti, Jim Rowland,

Ben Shipley, Karen Slagle, Peggy Walter, Rebecca Yarbrough,

Wayne King, Robert Wight, Melissa Udouj, Mary Carleton Young